Caitlin Szematowicz
Message Caitlin

    Caitlin Szematowicz

    Caitlin Szematowicz is a Partner with the firm, practicing in the areas of Civil & Commercial Litigation, Appeals, and Employment Law. Caitlin joined the firm in August 2012. Caitlin graduated magna cum laude from the University of Florida Levin College of Law in May 2012. She graduated cum laude from the University of Tampa, Honors Program, in December 2008, where she majored in Writing and received the “Outstanding Graduate in Writing” Award upon graduation.

    While in law school, Caitlin worked as an appellate law clerk for a Washington D.C. law firm, extern at the United States Attorney’s Office, and a Certified Legal Intern at the State Attorney’s Office. She graduated law school with a Pro Bono Certificate due to her pro bono work as a research associate for the Florida Innocence Commission and was recognized in the Florida Innocence Commission’s Final Report to the Supreme Court of Florida for her extensive legal research.

    Caitlin is recognized as a Super Lawyers “Rising Star” and was named a Rising Star in 2018, 2019, and 2020.

    Caitlin is actively involved in the legal community. She is currently serving as the Executive Director of the Barney Masterson American Inn of Court.

    She is a Past President of the St. Petersburg Bar Foundation and served on the Board of Trustees for the Foundation for six years.

    She is also a Past President of the Pinellas County Trial Lawyers Association.

    She serves on the St. Petersburg Bar Foundation’s annual professionalism seminar committee and is appointed to the Sixth Judicial Circuit’s Professionalism Committee.

    She was selected as a speaker for the Florida Bar’s Practicing with Professionalism CLE in both 2014 and 2016. Caitlin has also chaired numerous events for the St. Petersburg Bar, including chairing the Pillars of Justice, Law Day, Oktoberfest, and Celebration of the Foundation events. She also previously co-authored a legal column for The Island Reporter, “The Premier Paper of the South Gulf Beaches.”

    Caitlin Enjoys Volunteering in the Tampa Bay Area. For her community involvement, she was the recipient of the Barney Masterson American Inn of Court’s Thomas E. Penick, Jr. “The Rock” Award in 2014, an award which is given to a lawyer with less than five years of practice who has provided exceptional service to the community.

    She is a member of the Florida Bar. She is also admitted to practice in the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals, U.S. District Court of the Middle District of Florida, and Florida Middle District Bankruptcy Court.

    Message Caitlin

      Awards & Recognitions

      Practice Areas

      Caitlin Szematowicz practices in the areas of Civil & Commercial Litigation, Appeals, and Employment Law.


      Employment Law


      University of Florida Levin College of Law, Gainesville, Florida J.D., magna cum laude – May 2012 Honors: Pro Bono Certificate, Criminal Justice Certificate, Dean’s List, Book Award – Social Justice Lawyering
      Member: Delta Epsilon Iota, Florida Associate of Women Lawyers, Gators for Alternative Dispute Resolution, The Federalist Society

      University of Tampa B.A., cum laude –December 2008 Major: Writing Minors: Criminology, Law & Justice Honors: Honors Program, Dean’s Scholarship, Writing Scholarship, “Outstanding Graduate in Writing” Award

      Honors & Awards

      Super Lawyers Rising Star, 2021

      Super Lawyers Rising Star, 2020

      Super Lawyers Rising Star, 2019

      Super Lawyers Rising Star, 2018

      Thomas E. Penick, Jr. “The Rock” Award, 2014

      Finalist, St. Thomas Moore Moot Court Competition

      National Dean’s List

      Associations & Memberships

      Pinellas County Trial Lawyers Association, Member, 2013 – Present

      Pinellas County Florida Association of Women Lawyers, Member, 2013 – Present

      St. Petersburg Bar Association, Member, 2012 – Present

      St. Petersburg Bar Foundation Board of Trustees. 2014 – Present


      Delta Theta Phi (Professional Law Fraternity)

      Omicron Delta Kappa (National Leadership Honor society)

      Sigma Tau Delta (English Honor society)

      Delta Epsilon Iota (Academic Honor Society)